Not Too Late To Vote In Shire's Local Government Elections

Published on Friday, 8 October 2021 at 12:29:00 PM

With just over a week left before the end of the Local Government election, the Shire of East Pilbara is urging eligible residents to vote for their preferred South Ward Councillors.

There are seven candidates for four South Ward council seats and over the past few weeks, eligible voters living in the South Ward should have received postal vote ballots in the mail.

“With the rapidly approaching deadline, we strongly recommend submitting your ballot in person to avoid any potential delays in your vote being counted,” Shire Chief Executive Officer Steven Harding said.

“We suggest you drop off your ballot at the Newman Administration Office between 8.30am to 4.30pm on Monday to Friday next week, or 8.30am to 6pm on Saturday, 16 October.

"Ballots will be counted at the office after 6pm, which will establish who will be on the full Council.”

The seven candidates for the four South Ward seats are Anthony Middleton, Matthew Anick, David Kular, Cheryl Drage, John Wilmot, Anita Grace and Peta Baer.

Annabell Landy was elected unopposed for the East Ward, and Wendy McWhirter-Brooks and Lang Coppin were re-elected unopposed for the Central and North Wards, respectively.

“Voting in Local Government elections is a unique opportunity where residents can have a direct say in who they want representing them at a grassroots Local level,” Mr Harding said.

“I encourage everyone to take advantage of their democratic right to have a say in their community’s future.”

If eligible South Ward electors did not receive an election package in the mail, they can pick up a replacement at the Newman Administration Office.

Call the Shire office on (08) 9175 8000 or visit the Local Elections page for more information.

Back to All News