Councillor Anthony Middleton Re-Elected As Shire President

Published on Friday, 22 October 2021 at 12:00:00 AM

Anthony Middleton has been re-elected as the President of the Shire of East Pilbara, with Councillor Wendy McWhirter-Brooks elected Deputy President at the first Council meeting since the Local Government Elections on October 16.

Lang Coppin (North Ward) and Anita Grace (South Ward) were also re-elected. New faces to Council were Annabell Landy (East Ward) and Matthew Anick and Peta Baer (both South Ward).

“I would like to welcome Annabell, Matthew and Peta as part of the Shire of East Pilbara Council and wish them all the best as we work together and strive to make a better future for our community,” Cr Middleton said.

“We have a broad range of Local Government and life experience on the Council, which I am sure will bring a great energy as we work as a team.

“I would also like to extend my congratulations to Cr McWhirter-Brooks for her election as Deputy President. I look forward to working closer on the matters that are important to our community.

Cr Middleton (South Ward), joined the Shire of East Pilbara Council in 2017 and was elected as Shire President in May 2021 after the retirement of former Shire President Lynne Craigie OAM. Cr McWhirter-Brooks (Central Ward), was elected to Council in February 2021 after the retirement of former Councillor Dean Hatwell.

“I am excited to be given the Deputy President position, the East Pilbara is the best kept secret in Western Australia and there’s so much potential for the region,” Cr McWhirter-Brooks said.

“The East Pilbara is on the cusp, and I am proud to be involved in this exciting phase.”

Local Government Elections

Back to All News