Our Councillors Print

The Council is made up of members of the local community who are elected to that office by the residents and rate payers of the respective wards that they represent. They are led by a President who is elected by the Councillors. In this Shire there are 11 Councillors representing six wards. Council meetings are held normally between Newman and Marble Bar usually on the 4th Friday of each month.

Councillors Council is made up of 11 Councillors representing the following 6 wards:

  • North Ward
  • North West Ward
  • South Ward
  • Central Ward
  • Lower Central Ward
  • East Ward

Local Government elections are held biennially, with a councillors term of office being four years.   

The Council

A council's role is to: direct and control the local government's affairs; be responsible for the performance of the local government's functions; oversee the allocation of the local government's finances and resources; and determine the local government's policies.

Councillors

A councillor's role is to: represent the interests of electors, ratepayers and residents; provide leadership and guidance to the community; facilitate communication between the community and the council and vice versa; and participate in decision-making processes at meetings.

Councillors
Lynne Craigie Shire President
Ward South Ward
Contact Mob: 0407 985 058
Lang CoppinDeputy Shire President
Ward North Ward
Contact Mob: 0429 956 692
Anita Grace
Ward South Ward
Contact Tel: (08) 9175 1040
Jay Ahmedi
Ward South Ward
Contact Mob: 0458 333 522
Gerry Parsons
Ward South Ward
Contact Tel: (08) 9175 5330
Mob: 0429 011 170
Craig Hoyer
Ward South Ward
Contact Mob: 0400 703 618
Shane Carter
Ward South Ward
Contact Mob: 0417 172 343
Dean Hatwell
Ward Central Ward
Contact Mob: 0439 568 118
Biddy Schill
Ward Lower Central Ward
Contact Mob: 0437 280 812
Michael Kitchin
Ward North West Ward
Contact (08) 9383 4911 
  John Jakobson
Ward East Ward
Contact (08) 9175 1394
Councillors Ward Contact
Lynne Craigie Shire President South Ward Mob: 0407 985 058
shirepresident@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Jeton (Jay) AhmediDeputy Shire President South Ward Mob:Mobile: 0458 333 522
J.Ahmedi@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au

 Langtree (Lang) Coppin

North Ward Mob: 0429 956 692
Fax: 9176 4801
l.coppin@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anita Grace South Ward Tel:   0417 979 302
a.grace@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Geraldine Parsons South Ward Tel:   (08) 9175 5330
Mob: 0429 011 170
g.parsons@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Craig Hoyer South Ward Mob: 0400 703 618
c.hoyer@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anthony Middelton South Ward Tel:             9177 8616
a.middleton@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Dean Hatwell Central Ward Mob: 0439 568 118
d.hatwell@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Biddy Schill Lower Central Ward b.schill@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Michael Kitchin North West Ward Tel:   (08) 9383 4911
Mob: 0484 350 879
M.Kitchin@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
   
Carol Williams East Ward

Mobile: 0477 830 951
Parnngurr Community 9176 9009
Mobile:0477 830 951
c.williams@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au