Our Councillors Print

The Council is made up of members of the local community who are elected to that office by the residents and rate payers of the respective wards that they represent. They are led by a President who is elected by the Councillors. In this Shire there are 11 Councillors representing six wards. Council meetings are held normally between Newman and Marble Bar usually on the 4th Friday of each month.

Council is made up of 11 Councillors representing the following six wards:

  • North Ward
  • North West Ward
  • South Ward
  • Central Ward
  • Lower Central Ward
  • East Ward

Local Government elections are held biennially, with a councillors term of office being four years.   

The Council

A council's role is to: direct and control the local government's affairs; be responsible for the performance of the local government's functions; oversee the allocation of the local government's finances and resources; and determine the local government's policies.


A councillor's role is to: represent the interests of electors, ratepayers and residents; provide leadership and guidance to the community; facilitate communication between the community and the council and vice versa; and participate in decision-making processes at meetings.

Councillors Ward Contact
Lynne Craigie OAM
Shire President
South Ward Mob: 0407 985 058
Email: shirepresident@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Gerry Parsons
Deputy Shire President
South Ward Mob: 0429 011 170
Email: G.Parsons@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anita Grace South Ward Mob: 0417 979 302
Email: A.Grace@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anthony Middleton South Ward Mob: 0405 666 482
Email: A.Middleton@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Holly Pleming South Ward Mob: 0407 996 571
Email: H.Pleming@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Lou Lockyer South Ward Mob: 0427 986 902
Email: L.Lockyer@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Lang Coppin OAM North Ward Mob: 0429 956 692
Email: L.Coppin@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Dean Hatwell Central Ward Mob: 0439 568 118
Email: D.Hatwell@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Carol Williams East Ward Email: C.Williams@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Adrienne Mortimer North West Ward Mob: 0477 459 143
Email: A.Mortimer@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Stacey Smith Lower Central Ward Mob: 0427 412 135
Email: S.Smith@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au