Our Councillors Print

The Council is made up of members of the local community who are elected to that office by the residents and rate payers of the respective wards that they represent. They are led by a President who is elected by the Councillors. In this Shire there are 11 Councillors representing six wards. Council meetings are held normally between Newman and Marble Bar usually on the 4th Friday of each month.

Council is made up of 11 Councillors representing the following six wards:

  • North Ward
  • North West Ward
  • South Ward
  • Central Ward
  • Lower Central Ward
  • East Ward

Local Government elections are held biennially, with a councillors term of office being four years.   

The Council

A council's role is to: direct and control the local government's affairs; be responsible for the performance of the local government's functions; oversee the allocation of the local government's finances and resources; and determine the local government's policies.

Councillors

A councillor's role is to: represent the interests of electors, ratepayers and residents; provide leadership and guidance to the community; facilitate communication between the community and the council and vice versa; and participate in decision-making processes at meetings.

 
Councillors Ward Contact
Lynne Craigie OAM Shire President South Ward Mob: 0407 985 058
shirepresident@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anita Grace  Deputy Shire President South Ward Tel:   0417 979 302
a.grace@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Langtree (Lang) Coppin OAM North Ward Mob: 0429 956 692
Fax: 9176 4801

l.coppin@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Geraldine Parsons South Ward Tel:   (08) 9175 5330
Mob: 0429 011 170
g.parsons@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Anthony Middelton South Ward Tel:             9177 8616
a.middleton@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Dean Hatwell Central Ward Mob: 0439 568 118
d.hatwell@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
  Lower Central Ward  
Michael Kitchin North West Ward Tel:   (08) 9383 4911
Mob: 0484 350 879

M.Kitchin@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au
Carol Williams East Ward

Mobile: 0477 830 951
Parnngurr Community 9176 9009
Mobile:0477 830 951
c.williams@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au