Shire President Lynne Craigie OAM retires after almost 18 years dedication to the East Pilbara Print

Shire President Lynne Craigie OAM retires after almost 18 years dedication to the East Pilbara

The Shire of East Pilbara would like to recognise and celebrate the incredible career and outstanding devotion of Shire President Lynne Craigie OAM for her past 18 years in Local Government, after she retired from her position on May 15.
Cr Craigie joined the Shire of East Pilbara Council in 2003 for the South Ward and was elected as the Shire President in 2005. An exceptional champion for progress, Cr Craigie has been a stalwart leader who fought for change that benefited every resident living in our large and diverse Shire.
“Throughout my 18 years in Local Government, I have watched the Shire grow and evolve to what it is today, now having a budget 5 times larger than in those early days,” Cr Craigie said.
“It has been a career that I have enjoyed immensely and I thank everyone from stakeholders, through to our residents across the Shire for the privilege this role has afforded me.
“I will watch with pride going forward to see how the Shire continues to grow and proper and wish everyone, and especially my fellow councilors, the very best for the future.”
During her time on Council, the Shire’s population has almost tripled and the annual budget has grown from $16 million to $65 million. Cr Craigie was instrumental in securing funding for vital projects such as the Newman Revitalisation Project and the Newman Airport has also grown to be one of the busiest regional airports in Australia.
Her time in Local Government also included the installation of The Square, Newman House and the introduction of accommodation at the Newman Visitors Centre.
Despite the challenges of 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, under Cr Craigie’s leadership, the Shire announced an $8.5 million Economic Relief Package. This was made up of $1.5 million in financial relief to support the community, and $7 million for capital works to improve the Marble Bar Airport.
Deputy Shire President Gerry Parsons thanked Cr Craigie for her years of service to the Shire of East Pilbara community.
“Lynne has affected change on such a grand scale for our region, and we cannot thank her enough for everything she has done. We are sad to see her go, but everyone at the Shire wishes her all the best in the future. Lynne’s experience and dedication has resonated throughout our region, the State and the country, and we wish her all the best in whatever she decides to do next,” Cr Parsons said.
Cr Craigie’s years of dedicated service were honoured in 2019 when she received the Order of Australia Medal and in 2020 when she received the Local Government Medal for her work in the Local Government sector.
Throughout her time in Local Government, Cr Craigie has also served in many Local, State and Federal organisations. In 2015, she was elected as the WA Local Government Association (WALGA) President, which is the peak body representing Local Government in Western Australia and served in that role for two full terms ending in 2020.
Cr Craigie has also served as the WALGA Deputy President and the Chairperson for the Newman Women’s Shelter, Pilbara Regional Council, WALGA Mining Forum and Roadwise Newman.

Picture caption: East Pilbara Shire Councillors Adrienne Mortimer, Stacey Smith, Deputy President Gerry Parsons, Shire President Lynne Craigie OAM, Holly Pleming, Anita Grace, Lou Lockyer, Wendy McWhirter-Brooks and Lang Coppin OAM.
Fact File:
  • Shire President Lynne Craigie’s board appointments also include:
    • WALGA Selection Panel
    • Pilbara Road Group
    • Newman House Building Management Committee
    • Newman Health Advisory Group
    • East Pilbara Independence Support Group
    • Newman Chamber of Commerce and Industry
    • Australian Local Government Association
    • Newman Senior High School
    • Newman Visitors Centre
    • Pilbara Development Commission
    • Horizon Power
    • Telstra Country Wide Board
    • Australia’s North West Tourism Group.
  • Find the WALGA media release on Cr Craigie’s Local Government Medal win here:,-Events-and-Publications/Media/East-Pilbara-President-Awarded-Local-Government-Me
Back to News