Local Government Election 2019 Print

The Western Australian Local Government Elections will be held on October 19 2019, providing the opportunity for those enrolled on the electoral roll to become representatives for their community.

If you are passionate about what happens in your local community, becoming a councillor is an exciting opportunity to make a difference and to represent the interests of fellow residents.

At the October 19 elections, the Shire of East Pilbara will be looking to fill five positions in the Council in the following wards:

•              3 x south ward
•              1 x lower central ward
•              1 x north west ward

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system.

The terms of the following elected members expire in 2019 (however they are eligible for re-election) including Shire President Lynne Craigie and Councillor Michael Kitchin. The three remaining positions will fill the vacancies of former Councillors Jeton Ahmedi, Craig Hoyer and Biddy Schill who recently resigned.

Are you Eligible to Vote?

If you live in or own rateable property in the Shire of East Pilbara and meet the relevant elibility criteria, then you are entitled to vote at Council elections.  However, in order to do so you must be enrolled either on the State Electoral Roll for an address within the Shire, or on the Shire's Owners and Occupiers Roll.

If you are enrolled on the State electoral roll and you are listed as living at an address within the Shire of East Pilbara, then you will be automatically included ont he local government electoral roll for this Shire.  However, if you are an owner of occupier of property within the Shire of East Pilbara but are enrolled on the State roll at an address outside the Shire, or are not currently listed on any electoral roll, then you must apply for inclusion on the Shire's Owners and Occupiers Roll.

You can check your enrolment details by visiting the WA Electoral Commission's website.

Please contact the Shire's Rates Department on (08) 9175 8000 or by emailing rates@eastpilbara.wa.gov.au for further advice on applying for registration as an Owner or Occupier.


Nominations for candidates open on Thursday 5 September 2019 and close on Thursday 12 September 2019 at 4.00pm. Further detail on who is qualified to be a candidate is outlined in sections 2.19 to 2.24 of the Local Government Act 1995.


For  those interesting in pursuing the opportunity to join Council, the Shire of East Pilbara will be hosting Candidate Information Sessions as follows:

•             Monday 19 August 2019 at 18:00 pm in Marble Bar
•             Tuesday 20 August 2019 at 18:00 pm in Newman

Contacting the Returning Officer

Th WA Electoral Commission is yet to appoint a Returning Officer for the 2019 Shire of East Pilbara local government elections.  Contact details will be posted on the Shire of East Pilbara website when they become available.

Further Information

Electors and potential candidates can obtain further information with respect to the 2019 local government elections from the following links:

Western Australian Electoral Commission

Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries