Shire President receives OAM for services to East Pilbara Print

Shire President receives OAM for services to East Pilbara

Shire of East Pilbara President Lynne Craigie has been acknowledged with a prestigious Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for services to the East Pilbara region as part of the 2019 Australia Day Honours list.
“On behalf of everyone at the Shire of East Pilbara, we’d like to congratulate Lynne for receiving this distinction, and thank her for her outstanding commitment to our region, and to the local government sector,” said Shire of East Pilbara Chief Executive Officer Jeremy Edwards.

“For most of Lynne’s time on council she has been the East Pilbara Shire President, and this recognition of her many years of continued commitment to our community is well deserved.

Lynne joined the Shire of East Pilbara Council in 2003 and was elected Shire President in 2005. During this time the Shire’s annual budget rose from $16 million to $65 million and Newman Airport has grown to become one of the busiest regional airports in the country. Lynne was also one of the main players in the recent revitalisation of Newman that has transformed the town into one of the key areas of the Pilbara. She has also made sure that the Shire’s smaller towns, Marble Bar and Nullagine have received their fair share of the benefits generated from the resources boom in Newman.

Lynne’s outstanding service to local government and her community is evidenced by her involvement in various government and community organisations.  In 2015 she was elected the President of the WA Local Government Association (WALGA), the peak body representing local government in Western Australia. Lynne has also been appointed to the board of Horizon Power, the Pilbara Development Commission and the Telstra Country Wide Board.
Back to News